Despite the vote for Brexit, the BBC output remains massively opposed to withdrawal from the EU. It is required by law to be impartial, but is not. At the same time, its complaints procedure is not fit for purpose. It is designed mainly to protect the BBC. With the process of Brexit now underway, it is vital that pressure is applied to force it to become properly fair. That is the purpose of this site.


This site has been created by News-watch. We have been monitoring the BBC’s output for 17 years and thus have unmatched experience and expertise. Our reports are already read at the highest level, and our purpose now is to ensure that the issues involved in the UK’s withdrawal from the EU are properly covered. But we have limited resources, so we need your help. The BBC’s output is massive and a main tactic is to defend against accusations of bias by claiming that balancing material elsewhere has been missed. Every complaint registered here will be considered carefully and used as an essential part of our monitoring efforts and analysis.

News-watch is continuing its monitoring throughout the process of withdrawal, using new technology that allows the recording and searching in retrospect of a greater range of BBC output than has ever been possible. This will allow us to attack the BBC’s phoney defences more effectively. We are analysing with unprecedented range and depth areas such as content themes, the editorial stance of individual programmes, or the approach presenters over time.

We intend to put intense pressure on the BBC high command as Brexit unfolds. BBC Complaints will be a core part of that process. It is an easy-to-use conduit for you to be fully engaged in holding the Corporation to account.

Report EU Bias

Our hope is that you will alert us to as many examples as possible of BBC EU bias. Please register your observations below. We’ll feature some of the most interesting contributions on the site, and create an archive of complaints that will serve as a clear record of the Corporation’s failings.

We’re not linked to or affiliated with the BBC, and can’t guarantee that we will use your complaint directly in our work. As such, you may also wish to voice your concerns directly to the BBC using the Corporation’s own complaints procedure.

Featured Submissions

In this section are some of the most interesting contributions we’ve received about BBC EU Bias.
Read through them and join the discussion.

Latest Submissions

Here are the most recent contributions to the site:

  • BBC N ews South

    Programme Date:16/03/2018, BBC1

    A report of a close vote in Thatcham to use historically public open land to build a new school was alluded to by the reporter to mirror the divisive UK vote for Brexit. Surely it was just an important vote in a small community which effectively impacted to similar effect to both sides or the problem and Brexit had no relevance in the vote. To me this was an example of an inexperienced reporter trying to be cutting edge and probably reflects Thee BBC Remain preference.

  • Date line london

    Programme Date:11/03/2018, BBC1

    While listening to date line london every single member of this panel was pro eu. There was no balance whatsoever. I observed with my own eyes and ears that the bbc is biased. This is a disgrace, i dont pay my tv licence to listen to a remainer patronise every one. The bbc should be reminded that many people who are licence holders voted leave. Therefore your presenters should reflect this.

  • BBC News website

    Programme Date:12/03/2018, BBC Online

    On the main page under the ‘Full Story’ section there is an editorial piece entitled ‘Have voters changed their minds on Brexit?’ yet hidden away in ‘World – Europe’ a story about the cronyism of the EU Commission – ‘Martin Selmayr: The man at the heart of a Brussels saga’. Clearly the BBC is still attempting to push their agenda. There is no need for the editorial piece and isn’t ‘news’ other than to sway public opinion that another referendum is needed / wanted.

  • Dateline London

    Programme Date:03/03/2018,

    An otherwise worthwhile programme, in picking its guests, displays a consistent bias against Brexit. With only a few rare exceptions, hardly any of the guests have anything positive to say on the subject, so any claim of balance is laughable. And as someone who lives outside the “London Media Bubble” I have to say that the contempt shown by the producers of this programme towards the rest of the viewing UK, is the reason the reputation of the BBC is so low. The blatant bias exemplified particularly by the last 2 shows, has now stopped me (and others) watching what was previously a commendable programme.

  • BBC newswatch

    Programme Date:02/03/2018, BBC1

    The very first politician interviewed by the BBC after Theresa May’s brexit speech? The well known remainer troublemaker Anna Soubry. No other politicians in favour were interviewed.. it’s bias bias bias all the way with the Brexit bashing BBC. Sick of paying my licence fee for it

  • Today

    Programme Date:02/03/2018, BBC1

    Anna Soubry at least 3 times before 3pm on BBC today. The breakfast programme on Radio 4, the lunchtime politics, Afternoon Live. Every time I tried to hear the news, I was subjected to an anti-Brexit rant from this zealot, totally uncontradicted by a balanced view. And she’s on again on Question Time. Also, I am fed up with hearing anything from the discredited ex- PM Tony Blair. Every time he speaks the BBC gives him a lot of air time, usually unbalanced, and provides him with a platform for his views.

    Author:Continuing BBC Brexit bias

Recent Comments

  • David 7th November 2017 at 10:46 pm on BBC newsBoth my Grandfathers along with countless other fathers fought in WW1 and WW2 to stop Germany taking the upper hand The BBC and all remoaners should be tried for treason and be dealt the same deal as Guy Fawkes
  • John Foley Nicholson 14th October 2017 at 6:20 pm on Graham NortonOnce again BBC shows its bias...having Hillary Clinton on Norton next week is the bottom of the standard. Will he ask her about how she defended her husband when he abused woman. She is part of the left side of American Politics. She should NOT be on this platform.
  • MS LORRAINE C DAVIDSON 13th October 2017 at 8:33 pm on BreakfastYes and I wish Nick Clegg would get the message from him loosing his seat as MP. That we do not want to hear, or read about him and his book for Remoaners, and dope promoting think tank. Why does he not move to Spain, or Holland if he thinks the EU is so great.
  • Sandra wilcock 12th October 2017 at 3:38 pm on The Andrew Marr ShowSeems to be the case with BBC programmes these days, anti Brexit which has been shown so many times by multi BBC programmes, I'm a woman born in 1950s and they never show anything of the women demonstrating at parliament or conservative conference for 2 examples despite many MPs of all parties supporting the WASPI campaign !!a
  • jack saunders 12th October 2017 at 11:18 am on Alan Bennett’s DiariesI resent being called a coward by Alan Bennett because I voted to come out of the EU. Mr Bennett must be afraid of standing on his own two feet and would rather be ruled by a bunch of unelected bureaucrats. I would remind him of the words of Benjamin Franklin "If you sacrifice your political independence for financial gain, shortly you will lose both"
  • G Horton 11th October 2017 at 11:03 pm on Laura Kuenssberg BBC Political EditorI agree with all of the above. LEFT WING LAURA is a disgrace.
  • Henry Harryman 11th October 2017 at 8:44 pm on Laura Kuenssberg BBC Political EditorTotally agree. Her biased anti government / conservative reporting goes from bad to worse coupled with personal attacks on Teresa May. I fear she is merely the mouthpiece for a left wing BCC bias, So much for the valued impartiality of the BBC,
  • MS LORRAINE C DAVIDSON 11th October 2017 at 4:38 pm on Emma Barnett, Radio-5-LiveIt was disgusting Emma Barnett interview of Nick Clegg if he was a conservative she would of questioned him like she usually does Conservatives. How come Emma Barnett let Nick Clegg say that we older voters in the EU Referendem have negatively affected young peoples future. Which is not true. When My future was very badly affected by older voters than me, who voted in the 1970's to drag me who was young slyly into the awful EU , deceitfully pretending first it was a common market. Emma did not question him on this. The whole radio and media has
  • Muhammad Imran 8th October 2017 at 1:08 pm on Emma Barnett, Radio-5-LiveNot only on this subject but other issues, Emma Barnett is so biased, Needs to take a lesson or two from Adrian Childs
  • Ian Stone 7th October 2017 at 3:48 pm on Have I got News for YouA disgraceful display from the so-called 'unbiased' BBC. This was Tory bashing no less. There were four recent party conferences, but this programme got its cheap laughs from the Tory conference. I thought there were more laughs from the Labour conference. Only one sentence covered that one. The Lib Dem conference got a similar one liner - to titters around the obviously lefty audience. The UKIP conference didn't even get a mention although there was real news in the election of a new leader. Tory bashing from start to finish was not what I was looking forward to. It was