WANT TO STOP BBC BIAS AGAINST BREXIT?

Despite the vote for Brexit, the BBC output remains massively opposed to withdrawal from the EU. It is required by law to be impartial, but is not. At the same time, its complaints procedure is not fit for purpose. It is designed mainly to protect the BBC. With the process of Brexit now underway, it is vital that pressure is applied to force it to become properly fair. That is the purpose of this site.

About

This site has been created by News-watch. We have been monitoring the BBC’s output for 17 years and thus have unmatched experience and expertise. Our reports are already read at the highest level, and our purpose now is to ensure that the issues involved in the UK’s withdrawal from the EU are properly covered. But we have limited resources, so we need your help. The BBC’s output is massive and a main tactic is to defend against accusations of bias by claiming that balancing material elsewhere has been missed. Every complaint registered here will be considered carefully and used as an essential part of our monitoring efforts and analysis.

News-watch is continuing its monitoring throughout the process of withdrawal, using new technology that allows the recording and searching in retrospect of a greater range of BBC output than has ever been possible. This will allow us to attack the BBC’s phoney defences more effectively. We are analysing with unprecedented range and depth areas such as content themes, the editorial stance of individual programmes, or the approach presenters over time.

We intend to put intense pressure on the BBC high command as Brexit unfolds. BBC Complaints will be a core part of that process. It is an easy-to-use conduit for you to be fully engaged in holding the Corporation to account.

Report EU Bias

Our hope is that you will alert us to as many examples as possible of BBC EU bias. Please register your observations below. We’ll feature some of the most interesting contributions on the site, and create an archive of complaints that will serve as a clear record of the Corporation’s failings.

We’re not linked to or affiliated with the BBC, and can’t guarantee that we will use your complaint directly in our work. As such, you may also wish to voice your concerns directly to the BBC using the Corporation’s own complaints procedure.

Featured Submissions

In this section are some of the most interesting contributions we’ve received about BBC EU Bias.
Read through them and join the discussion.

Latest Submissions

Here are the most recent contributions to the site:

  • Brexit: Britain’s Biggest Deal

    Programme Date:09/03/2017, BBC1


    So ridiculous I don’t know how Laura kept a straight face. Highlight was a montage backed by chirpy music on all the rules and regulations that come from the EU.

    Author:Yentob's Butler
  • Country file

    Programme Date:19/03/2017, BBC1


    Continual repeated predictions that brexit will mean overseas workers will cease to come to the UK.

    Author:Mark D Spark
  • Countryfile

    Programme Date:19/03/2017, BBC1


    Comments and feature that migrant agricultural labour …cheap… Will be threatens after brexit…..programme ruined turned off when will they stop this …disgusting

    Author:still they wont leaxe it alone
  • Brexit; Britains Biggest Deal

    Programme Date:15/03/2017, BBC2


    Laura Kuenssberg’s reporting was so blatantly biased towards Remain I was embarrassed for her. She emphasised everything that could go wrong without mentioning anything that could go right. She ignored any possibility that anything could be in our favour, and in my opinion, said nothing positive about our leaving Europe. I’ve always admired her for her intelligence and her perception, but I was more than a little disappointed last night. I also get the feeling that the BBC in general reports negatively about Brexit. Please try and accept that we’re leaving, and the more we accept it and work together to achieve a good outcome, the better for the whole country.

    Author:Russ
  • Brexit: Britain’s Biggest Deal

    Programme Date:09/03/2017, BBC2


    A terrible program – unbalanced arguments and only purpose to create public division. This was the very worst reporting I have ever seen on the BBC.

    Author:AtlanticMike
  • Brexit Britains Biggest Deal

    Programme Date:09/03/2017, BBC2


    Fed up of this negativity of UK. We ran the country perfectly well before we joined the Common Market so why can we not do the same now. It is time for some positivity and hope for our future trading with all the other Countries and for nurturing our own young peoples talents not every other nations first. The only reason EU will not negotiate fairly is because of the Gina Millers and Tim Farrons of this world who just want us to think like they do.

    Author:Cazza

Recent Comments

  • Polly 11th March 2017 at 4:38 pm on Brexit: Britain’s Biggest DealIt's amazing how any documentary that is not 100% behind brexit is seen as bias. There is only one group of people showing blatant bias and that is the brexiters themselves. They do not respect democracy or freedom of speech unless, of course, it is in their favour. The future for Britain is very bleak if these are the people deciding and shaping our future.
  • D chin 11th March 2017 at 12:41 pm on Brexit Britains biggest dealI'm shock that BBC aired a one sided programme. Who is Kuensberg? Is she another Gina Miller who do not respect democracy and tried to over turn it? She makes people who voted out sounds stupid
  • Phill 11th March 2017 at 10:52 am on You and YoursI feel the BBC, like many middle class Londoners, finds comfort in the cosy consensus of eu politics. But it is a weak and in many ways a false consensus. As someone once said you can pay a high price for a cosy consensus!
  • James Hadwin-Jones 11th March 2017 at 7:34 am on Brexit Britains biggest dealThis was a superb piece of journalism - it anything but biased. This documentary sets out clearly how we will all be poorer, have fewer basic human rights guaranteed, ruin our children's future, destroy our national health service and basically take ourselves back a century. And all because we we too stupid to know the difference between facts and lies. Well done Britain. I myself am one of many doctors preparing to leave the UK to seek a life elsewhere. Unlike most of my colleagues, who are Spanish, and therefore not feeling welcome, I am British born and bred. But
  • Paul Roe 10th March 2017 at 12:13 pm on Brexit: The Battle For Britainjust like the referendum, could only make up negative facts about leaving and not find anything positive about staying they are determined to talk down the economy over the next 2 years in a hope that we will ask to go back and join the euro. then there will be no leaving ever and we will become the prop that holds up the whole of the broken and bust economies of south europe.
  • Hilly 7th March 2017 at 5:18 pm on Local voting figures shed new light on EU referendumI concur completely with this. I worked on the British Social Attitude Survey just after the 'out' vote so talked to a lot of voters on both sides of the argument. I found a very diverse group voted to leave, with well considered arguments. They were not all dispossessed racists as the BBC has portrayed them. I approached my local BBC radio station to arrange a programme to present a more balanced view but everything went quiet very quickly, no further communication. I voted out too because I believe in democracy. I find it difficult to listen to the BBC
  • Gillian Mosely 5th March 2017 at 2:57 pm on The Andrew Marr ShowHow can you justify 8+ minutes of Paul Nuttall, politician with no elected mandate, and, on the rare occasions when you give the LibDems any airtime they are rushed off air? This is not balance. Nor is it giving preference to the most popular elected political parties in Britain. So why on earth is this happening?
  • Stuart Fanning 27th February 2017 at 11:17 pm on Silent witnessWith a right wing anti-immigrant government the BBC did right in redressing the balance a bit.
  • Philip Taylor 25th February 2017 at 11:52 am on Jeremy Vine ShowI am so fed up with Vine I switch to local radio when he comes on.
  • Peter Obergunner-Peaster 24th February 2017 at 12:14 am on Question TimeEver since Brexit Question a disproportionate amount of time has been spent discussing the panels view, often an opinion with any facts. Resulting in the one of the biggest controversial project HS2 slipping quietly into phase 2 at what appears to be an increase to £50-£70 and the transport Minister publicly declaring there is no upper limit for cancelling, it has effectively an open cheque book. Minister will come and go and when it goes before the Accounts committee the Minister at the time will say it's nothing to do with me, I just got the job! It is time