WANT TO STOP BBC BIAS AGAINST BREXIT?

Despite the vote for Brexit, the BBC output remains massively opposed to withdrawal from the EU. It is required by law to be impartial, but is not. At the same time, its complaints procedure is not fit for purpose. It is designed mainly to protect the BBC. With the process of Brexit now underway, it is vital that pressure is applied to force it to become properly fair. That is the purpose of this site.

About

This site has been created by News-watch. We have been monitoring the BBC’s output for 17 years and thus have unmatched experience and expertise. Our reports are already read at the highest level, and our purpose now is to ensure that the issues involved in the UK’s withdrawal from the EU are properly covered. But we have limited resources, so we need your help. The BBC’s output is massive and a main tactic is to defend against accusations of bias by claiming that balancing material elsewhere has been missed. Every complaint registered here will be considered carefully and used as an essential part of our monitoring efforts and analysis.

News-watch is continuing its monitoring throughout the process of withdrawal, using new technology that allows the recording and searching in retrospect of a greater range of BBC output than has ever been possible. This will allow us to attack the BBC’s phoney defences more effectively. We are analysing with unprecedented range and depth areas such as content themes, the editorial stance of individual programmes, or the approach presenters over time.

We intend to put intense pressure on the BBC high command as Brexit unfolds. BBC Complaints will be a core part of that process. It is an easy-to-use conduit for you to be fully engaged in holding the Corporation to account.

Report EU Bias

Our hope is that you will alert us to as many examples as possible of BBC EU bias. Please register your observations below. We’ll feature some of the most interesting contributions on the site, and create an archive of complaints that will serve as a clear record of the Corporation’s failings.

We’re not linked to or affiliated with the BBC, and can’t guarantee that we will use your complaint directly in our work. As such, you may also wish to voice your concerns directly to the BBC using the Corporation’s own complaints procedure.

Featured Submissions

In this section are some of the most interesting contributions we’ve received about BBC EU Bias.
Read through them and join the discussion.

Latest Submissions

Here are the most recent contributions to the site:

  • Radio Ulster News

    Programme Date:06/07/2017, BBC Radio 4


    The hourly news from 7 am through until 12 noon did not mention that the EU Parliament vote for Northern Ireland to be given special status was rejected. Yet at 12 noon BBC reported Michael Barnier’s comments that frictionless trade between Europe and the UK would be impossible after Brexit After that I got tired listening.

    Author:JostyS
  • Newsnight

    Programme Date:28/06/2017, BBC2


    Evan Davis interview with conservative MP David Jones, including which he exclaimed to th MP ‘what planet are you on’ Clearly showing his own views – he should resign!

    Author:Evan Davis shows his bias
  • BBC News Website

    Programme Date:28/06/2017, BBC Online


    BBC news website, main news article headlined: ‘British Attitudes Survey: More Britons ‘back higher taxes’ also in the subheading ‘peeople are also becoming more sceptical of the EU, and more socially liberal’. When you click to read the article the Brexit related info is buried towards the end, with a shocking statistic that ‘76% of people said the UK should leave the EU’. The BBC has been running relentless pro EU and Anti Brexit articles on its website for a sustained period of time, one would have thought that a statistic of ‘76% of people said the UK should leave the EU’ would have been the main headline – in the interests of balanced reporting, but as usual the BBC website editors like to use subtle techniques to bury pro Brexit news and promote pro remain views.

    Author:Todd Landers
  • Newsnight

    Programme Date:27/06/2017, BBC2


    BBC Newsnight ran a report which appeared to ‘blame’ the brexit vote in part on a right wing-funded mass hypnotism plot.

    Author:Roy
  • BBC News at 10

    Programme Date:26/06/2017, BBC1


    Showing alleged German people here who feel second class citizens despite being told they can stay here.Plus Brits who live in Germany who claim not to like the brexit back home. Its constant anti Brexit tone every night on BBC

    Author:MC65
  • Question Time

    Programme Date:22/06/2017, BBC1


    As always the ‘speakers’ were in the majority for the ‘remain’ argument and Dimbleby increasingly struggles to restrain his neo-liberal stance. The audience is dominated by left wing ‘boo-boys’ and the lack of people like Freddie Forsythe, Dr David Starkey, Norman Littlejohn Nigel Farage etc, is lamentable. Metropolitan, cloistered £150k + leftiy BBC apparatchiks who just use this platform as a Remainer propaganda conduit. God BBC take a look at yourselves!

    Author:Patriot

Recent Comments

  • V j 9th July 2017 at 8:11 pm on BBC NewsNot when you are the one with the microphone!
  • Gordon Hunter 2nd July 2017 at 4:23 pm on The Andrew Marr ShowAndrew Marr is very biased and constantly aggressively interrupts conservative political representatives
  • June Fraser-Reid 29th June 2017 at 10:40 pm on Laura Kuenssberg BBC Political EditorSick and tired of Laura Kuenssberg totally biased comments. Clearly she must stop this bitter attack on the prime minister. She needs to accept that this is a democratic vote by the people to leave the EU and the fact that her friends in the Labour Party did not get enough seats. They had eleven years and left the tax payers with a debt to repay. Shame on the B.B.C.
  • Vanessa 29th June 2017 at 5:21 pm on Who Should We Let InThe U.K.'s population in 1900 (which included Ireland at the time) was 38 million. Today, the U.K.'s population is about 66 million (most of us believe even more). The foundation of the Welfare State weren't laid until 1942, and the National Health Service/National Insurance Scheme were launched in 1948. Newcomers to our country in the late 19th/early 20th centuries were not 'given accommodation' - they were hardworking and self-reliant.
  • Hope Springs 26th June 2017 at 10:51 pm on Laura Kuenssberg BBC Political EditorThe woman is constantly aggressive towards brexit and the prime minister. She has no respect for the people of the UK who voted to leave and is constantly trying to find negatives, (even if there are none) when talking to any MP she can harangue into a conversation. It is about time that the BBC, which should also look at it's supposed "impartiality" when reporting” the facts" when none are actually known, e.g. the inferno last week which apparently is the governments fault, despite it being a Labour council! Enough is enough BBC, stop the Laura Kuenssberg nightly show and
  • Marc Jones 25th June 2017 at 11:16 pm on NewsnightBBC Newsnight is ridiculously biased regarding Brexit. Clearly the entire organisation has deep seated issues that prevent them from engaging in constructive discussions about the best way forward for the nation. Actually they seem to be doing their best to destroy the country's future outside the EU - This decision was voted for by the majority of the British people. Evan Davies is a disgrace, a bully when interviewing anyone he disagrees with over Brexit, he patronises evyone and tries o humiliate them on air. I was an avid newsnight fan but do not watch anymore because of the 'cringe
  • Christine Keating 25th June 2017 at 8:50 am on Jeremy Vine talking on Ken Bruce showI agree and I am appalled at the blatant biased reporting from the BBC on the whole Brexit issue and the subject if the recent report on the huge population increase being played down while again promoting unregulated immigration, this is a democratic country that voted to leave the EU and instead of being more patriotic and loyal to the welfare and security of the UK in these worrying times the BBC is not being impartial or fair in its reporting.
  • Micheal Grubber 24th June 2017 at 10:25 pm on Jeremy Vine talking on Ken Bruce showI am in total agreement with this comment and many others on this site. I cannot believe how biased the BBC have become, it's like living in some twisted Orwellian society where the voice of the ordinary people is completely drowned by the screeching social media harpies! How I fear for the sickly coloured "rainbow" future awaiting us all. We most stop sitting idly watching this car crash happen, time to act folks!
  • F Heaton 24th June 2017 at 5:47 pm on Brexit Means BrexitIf the BBC wants to keep its licence-funded existence, it is essential to be an unbiased, non-partisan organisation. Their programmes featuring Brexit always focus on negatives, rather than the many positives of leaving the EU. Rarely are the negatives of the EU today (including even closer involvement between member states in the future) mentioned. The expensive membership fees, lack of direction regarding immigration, waste of funds, beaurocracy, etc) are rarely given a mention. In my opinion, the BBC is fast losing its credibility as a first-rate news source.
  • F Heaton 24th June 2017 at 5:36 pm on News at TenWe also despise the rude, sneering, arrogant tone of Laura Kuenessberg (known as leftie Laura in our family). It is expected that politicians will be asked - and expected to answer - tough questions from reporters, but Kuenessberg and her ilk, take it too far. They never see positives in anything!